Huduma Namba Organizational Structure

The structure to implement Huduma Namba comprises of three levels namely; Steering Committee, Technical Committee and the Secretariat.

The Secretariat is the operations organ of Huduma Namba.  It is headed by the project Chairperson who oversees the operations and coordination of activities that the Secretariat undertakes under the direction of the Technical Committee.

It draws membership from relevant Ministries, Departments and Agencies (MDAs) including the Ministries of Interior and Coordination of National Government (State Department for Interior); ICT; Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Irrigation; Foreign Affairs; Education; Health; and State Law Office. Departments include Civil Registration; Immigration; and the National Registration Bureau. Agencies comprise of the National Transport and Safety Authority; National Hospital Insurance Fund; and the Kenya National Bureau of Standards.

The Technical Committee is the link between the Secretariat and the Steering Committee which provides strategic direction on the implementation of the programme.

The Steering Committee is chaired by the Cabinet Secretary for Interior and Coordination of National Government. It is charge with creating, managing, and maintaining a national population database of personal information of all Kenyan citizens and registered foreign nationals living in Kenya; assigning unique identification numbers (Huduma Namba) to persons in the national population database; and ensuring the preservation, protection and security of the information or data collected, obtained, maintained and stored in the national population database.

It undertakes its work through Committees, namely: Technology, Registration, Communications and Legal and Procurement. These Committees are supported by Sub-Committees at the Secretariat level which undertake the ground work, synthesize and prepare reports for the Technical Committee.

Organisation Structure